Tuesday, March 17, 2020

{ The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley - TLC Book Tour }



• Paperback: 352 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks; Reprint edition (March 3, 2020)

“My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best — with an extra dose of acid.” — Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.
The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.
Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?



Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

About Lucy Foley

Lucy Foley studied English literature at Durham University and University College London and worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry. She is the author of The Book of Lost and Found and The Invitation. She lives in London.
Follow Lucy on Twitter and Facebook.


My thoughts:

 It's not very often that you open a book, and before you look up to take a breath, you've gone through page after page.

Lucy has a knack for doing this in her books, and she's quite amazing when it comes to mystery novels.

The story takes off in the Scotland Highlands, which right away drew me in.  We meet 9 friends, coming together to celebrate the New Year.  It is a tradition they began many years ago.  Nothing seems out of the ordinary, unless you count the crazy storm that blows in and leaves them stranded and hunkered down in the beautiful but isolated house.

It is December 30.  Spirits are high, everyone is excited for yet another New Year in the company of good friends.

Two days later, one of them is dead and one is a killer.  But who?  And I'm not just asking who is the killer, because Lucy Foley throws a twist into this story by having us quite confused about who the victim is too.

I was not only completely into the book, but getting quite frustrated trying to figure out who was killed and who was the murderer.  I almost felt like I was in the moment as well, which was fantastic.

Truly if you love mystery and whodunnits, you have got to get yourself a copy of Lucy's The Hunting Party.


Thank you to TLC Book Tours and Williams Morrow Books for providing me with a review copy.


1 comment:

  1. I'm really enjoying this one so far! Thank you for being on this tour. Sara @ TLC Book Tours

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Please be respectful of each other and my blog. Rude comments will be deleted.

Thank you for stopping by, hope you are having a blessed day!

♥Sandra♥

Instagram

Flickr

Created with flickr badge.