Friday, September 21, 2018

{ Scariest moment of my life and prayer request }

You guys, I can't even begin to tell you just how scared I was last night.

If you follow me on Instagram then I'm sure you've seen by now, if not, then I'll point you in that direction so that you can see the video I posted last night.

_MG_3137

_MG_3140

My day started out like any other, the sun was shining, there were hardly any clouds in the sky, and it was just a nice cool fallish day.

{ The Secret of the Irish Castle by Santa Montefiore - TLC Book Tour }



Paperback: 480 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (August 14, 2018)

International bestselling author Santa Montefiore continues the story of the Deverill family in the third book in her beautiful and moving Deverill Chronicles trilogy—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams.

Thursday, September 20, 2018

{ Cooking Thursday - Beef Casserole }


Hey everyone :)

It's been quite a while since I've done a Cooking Thursday and I've quite missed them, so here I am with a recipe for you today.

Beef Casserole, well actually it's a bit like a cottage pie but instead of mash we use cubed fried potatoes.  It is a nice change to the usual cottage pie though I still really do love that comforting dish on a cold winter day.

Right, let me show you how to make this delicious dish for your family, and as always, if you do try it, won't you let me know how you liked it, or how it turned out?

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

{ What I watch on Youtube }

_MG_2493

I'm often asked what I watch on Youtube, because I usually mention that I watch quite a few vlogs.

Instead of replying individually to one person at a time, I think it will be easier if I just make a post on it, share my faves and maybe you will find a new favorite to enjoy from my list, who knows.

My Youtube tastes have changed a bit over time, but for the most part, 99% of my Subscription list is vlogs from the UK.  I know, we live in the US, but I don't really enjoy the local vloggers as much as I do the overseas ones.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

{ The Removes by Tatjana Soli - TLC Book Tour }


About The Removes

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books (June 12, 2018)
As the first wave of pioneers travel westward to settle the American frontier, two women discover their inner strength when their lives are irrevocably changed by the hardship of the wild west in The Removes, a historical novel from New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Tatjana Soli.

Spanning the years of the first great settlement of the West, The Removes tells the intertwining stories of fifteen-year-old Anne Cummins, frontierswoman Libbie Custer, and Libbie’s husband, the Civil War hero George Armstrong Custer. When Anne survives a surprise attack on her family’s homestead, she is thrust into a difficult life she never anticipated?living among the Cheyenne as both a captive and, eventually, a member of the tribe. Libbie, too, is thrown into a brutal, unexpected life when she marries Custer. They move to the territories with the U.S. Army, where Libbie is challenged daily and her worldview expanded: the pampered daughter of a small-town judge, she transforms into a daring camp follower. But when what Anne and Libbie have come to know?self-reliance, freedom, danger?is suddenly altered through tragedy and loss, they realize how indelibly shaped they are by life on the treacherous, extraordinary American plains.

With taut, suspenseful writing, Tatjana Soli tells the exhilarating stories of Libbie and Anne, who have grown like weeds into women unwilling to be restrained by the strictures governing nineteenth-century society. The Removes is a powerful, transporting novel about the addictive intensity and freedom of the American frontier.

Monday, September 17, 2018

{ A cleaning day }

Hi everyone :)

Today was a cleaning day for me, as Mondays usually are.  I got right to work at 8am and didn't stop until 1pm., but I was on a mission to give everything a really good, deep clean.

_MG_3076

_MG_3077

Woke up this morning to foggy fields.  I couldn't believe my eyes at first, because this really only happens when Fall has surely come around.  Sure felt good to feel those lower temps though :)

{ Happy Homemaker Monday - 09/17/2018 }

Good morning everyone and a very happy Monday to you all :)

Are you ready for the new week ahead?  I'm kind of on the fence, I am and I'm not.  I think the weekend went by a bit too quick for my taste, if I'm being honest, but I am also looking forward to a week of homemaking, and whatever else comes my way.

Now let's get right into our Happy Homemaker Monday, shall we?   


www.familycorner.blogspot.com


Sunday, September 16, 2018

{ A lazy Sunday }

_MG_3075

I love weekends when I just stop trying to stay busy, and give in to the laziness that my body is wanting and needing.

Usually, the minute I even think about being lazy, my mind immediately tells me that it's not a good thing, and that I should get up and do something productive.

Thing is, I do productive things every day of my life, and sometimes, I just want to veg out on the bed surrounded by comfy crochet blankets, and my doggy and some random thing on TV.

Saturday, September 15, 2018

{ A day of pawn shop hopping }



My family and I love thrift stores and pawn shops, and not even so much to buy anything, but just looking around and seeing what kind of fun things we can find.  It's amazing the treasures you end up discovering in the back of the shelf, right down there at the bottom.

Today though, my husband and son had a specific goal in mind, they wanted to see if they could track down any of games for the old systems like Nintendo.

Nick lately has been enjoying playing on all of the old consoles, and he has quite a nice set up going on in his bedroom, I'll have to take a picture and show you.

Anyway, they wanted to go check out a few pawn shops and I just decided to go along for the ride, literally.

Friday, September 14, 2018

{ A yarny kind of Friday }

_MG_3057

I often get asked how I managed to do get my housework done and still have time for crochet or watching a show or doing the things that I enjoy.

It's not the first time that I've talked about this, but it has been quite a long time ago so I thought I would quickly mention it again.