Friday, September 21, 2018

{ The Secret of the Irish Castle by Santa Montefiore - TLC Book Tour }



Paperback: 480 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (August 14, 2018)

International bestselling author Santa Montefiore continues the story of the Deverill family in the third book in her beautiful and moving Deverill Chronicles trilogy—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams.



“Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore. Everything she writes, she writes from the heart.” —Jojo Moyes,  #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You

1939: Peace has flourished since the Great War ended, but much has changed for the Deverill family as now a new generation is waiting in the wings to make their mark.

When Martha Wallace leaves her home in America to search for her birth mother in Dublin, she never imagines that she will completely lose her heart to the impossibly charming JP Deverill. But more surprises are in store for her after she discovers that her mother comes from the same place as JP, sealing her fate.

Bridie Doyle, now Countess di Marcantonio and mistress of Castle Deverill, is determined to make the castle she used to work in her home. But just as she begins to feel things are finally going her way, her flamboyant husband Cesare has other ideas. As his eye strays away from his wife, those close to the couple wonder if he really is who he says he is.

Kitty Deverill has come to accept her life with her husband Robert, and their two children. But then Jack O’Leary, the love of her life, returns to Ballinakelly. And this time his heart belongs elsewhere.
As long-held secrets come to light, the Deverills will have to heal old wounds and come to terms with the past if they hope to ensure their legacy for the future.


Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Santa Montefiore

Santa Montefiore was born in England. She went to Sherborne School for Girls in Dorset and studied Spanish and Italian at Exeter University. She has written sixteen bestselling novels, which have been translated into thirty different languages and have sold more than two million copies worldwide.
Find out more about Santa at her website, and follow her on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.




My Thoughts:

Welcome back to the life of the Deverills.  In this third and final book of the trilogy, we once again meet up with Bridie and Kitty.

I was lucky enough to read the previous book The Daughters of Ireland, but unfortunately I didn't get to read the first in the series called The Girl in the Castle, and I think to better understand everything about the families, the curse, the plot points and so on, I need to go back and try to get a hold of a copy.

Not to say that you can't read this third book on it's own, it is perfectly well written as a stand alone novel.

It's not an easy and quick read, or something that you can pick up at a moment's notice and just keep going, so I would suggest that you do take your time, sit quietly and really devote some time to this wonderful book.

What Santa Montefiore does best, is create a story that really takes you for a ride.  It's not a one sided and one topic novel, but more of a mixture of different people, different families, different circumstances and dramas and events that come together to create a setting in which you just don't want to walk away from.

I'm not going to give anymore away, other than tell you that it all begins, many and I mean MANY years ago when Maggie O'Leary places a curse on the Deverill men, tying them to Castle Deverill forever, and I truly mean forever......because even after death, their souls are bound within the castle walls with no escape until an O' Leary returns to the castle.

As you can imagine, what happens from there throughout the past 3 books, is nothing short of  brilliant historical novel.  Oh and did I mention that WWII plays a big part in the setting?

Yes, definitely a good read!!!

1 comment:

  1. I'm excited to read this series! Thanks for being on the tour!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Please be respectful of each other and my blog. Rude comments will be deleted.

Thank you for stopping by, hope you are having a Blessed day!

♥Sandra♥

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...