Friday, September 08, 2017

Thief's Mark by Carla Neggers - TLC Book Tour

About Thief’s Mark

  • Series: Sharpe & Donovan (Book 8)
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: MIRA (August 29, 2017)
A murder in a quiet English village, long-buried secrets and a man’s search for answers about his traumatic past entangle FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan in the latest edge-of-your-seat Sharpe & Donovan novel 
As a young boy, Oliver York witnessed the murder of his wealthy parents in their London apartment. The killers kidnapped him and held him in an isolated Scottish ruin, but he escaped, thwarting their plans for ransom. Now, after thirty years on the run, one of the two men Oliver identified as his tormentors may have surfaced.
Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan are enjoying the final day of their Irish honeymoon when a break-in at the home of Emma’s grandfather, private art detective Wendell Sharpe, points to Oliver. The Sharpes have a complicated relationship with the likable, reclusive Englishman, an expert in Celtic mythology and international art thief who taunted Wendell for years. Emma and Colin postpone meetings in London with their elite FBI team and head straight to Oliver. But when they arrive at York’s country home, a man is dead and Oliver has vanished.
As the danger mounts, new questions arise about Oliver’s account of his boyhood trauma. Do Emma and Colin dare trust him? With the trail leading beyond Oliver’s small village to Ireland, Scotland and their own turf in the United States, the stakes are high, and Emma and Colin must unravel the decades-old tangle of secrets and lies before a killer strikes again.
New York Times bestselling author Carla Neggers delivers the gripping, suspense-filled tale readers have been waiting for.
Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

About Carla Neggers

Carla Neggers is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 60 novels, including her popular Sharpe and Donovan and Swift River Valley series. Her books have been translated into 24 languages and sold in over 35 countries. A frequent traveler to Ireland, Carla lives with her family in New England. To learn more and to sign up for her newsletter, visit

Connect with Carla

Website | Facebook | Twitter

My Thoughts:

I started off the book being completely confused.  The reason for that is that I felt like from the get go, I was thrown into the middle of an on going story of which I had no information or understanding.

It was a bit frustrating for me to stick with it because like I said above, I had no clue what was going on.  I did a bit of research and found out that this was the 7th book in a series.

The author did a pretty good job of explaining and setting the novel and honestly after my initial frustration, I just kept going and decided to enjoy the story for what it was.  And enjoy I did.

I felt like I was able to travel all over England, see beautiful places, meet interesting people and also go o a bit of an adventure with MI5 and the FBI. 

We are following the story of Oliver who is an art thief, and Emma and Colin, newly married FBI agents.  What ensues is a  thirty year old murder mystery come to light with Oliver having to rehash some of the most difficult moments of his life.

Quite an interesting story and it did make me want to go back and look up the previous 6 installments in the series.

No comments: