Wednesday, May 10, 2017

# summer reading list 2017

{ Summer Reading List 2017 }

Hey everyone, I am so excited for today's post.

I love reading and though I haven't been able to do much the past year or so, I've finally gotten back into it and am enjoying it so much.

I haven't done a reading list in many years, I believe the last time I did something similar was back in 2014, so yeah, quite a while ago.

Back in the day, when I had just started blogging, we used to do these every Summer and Fall, and I quite enjoyed joining in and sharing my selections, as well as looking through everyone else's.  I found many good reads that way and I'm hoping I can do that this time around too.

I know it's short notice, but won't you join me today and share your reading list for the summer too?


I thought about giving you two lists, one of the books I have for review and then another for the books that I have on my bookshelves which I've yet to read....but truth be told, I doubt I will get around to those, as you can see from the list below I have quite a few books.

There's a bit of a mixture, beach reads, thrillers and my personal favorites which are period inspired books.

I hope you enjoy my list, I hope you find at least one book that catches your interest.  Let me know in the comments if you're joining in and I'll add you to the bottom of the post.  I'm not going to use linkies because they've given me so many headaches lately, but don't worry, like I said, I will manually add your names and links at the bottom, if you choose to participate :)



The Compassionate Achiever by Christopher L. Kukk
A powerful, practical guide for cultivating compassion—the scientifically proven foundation for personal achievement and success at work, at home, and in the community.
For decades, we’ve been told the key to prosperity is to look out for number one. But recent science shows that to achieve durable success, we need to be more than just achievers; we need to be compassionate achievers.


My Lovely Wife in the Psych Ward by Mark Lukach
A heart-wrenching, yet hopeful, memoir of a young marriage that is redefined by mental illness and affirms the power of love.
Mark and Giulia’s life together began as a storybook romance. They fell in love at eighteen, married at twenty-four, and were living their dream life in San Francisco. When Giulia was twenty-seven, she suffered a terrifying and unexpected psychotic break that landed her in the psych ward for nearly a month. One day she was vibrant and well-adjusted; the next she was delusional and suicidal, convinced that her loved ones were not safe.



The Marriage Bureau by Penrose Halson
A riveting glimpse of life and love during and after World War II—a heart-warming, touching, and thoroughly absorbing true story of a world gone by.

In the spring of 1939, with the Second World War looming, two determined twenty-four-year-olds, Heather Jenner and Mary Oliver, decided to open a marriage bureau. They found a tiny office on London’s Bond Street and set about the delicate business of matchmaking. Drawing on the bureau’s extensive archives, Penrose Halson—who many years later found herself the proprietor of the bureau—tells their story, and those of their clients.



The Beach House:  Coming Home by Georgia Bockoven
Unlock the door to the beach house…a place where life slows down, people come together, and love is the strongest force of all.

After you’ve given your baby to strangers, what do you say when someone asks if you have children?



Same Beach Next Year by Dorothea Benton Frank
 New York Times bestselling author Dorothea Benton Frank returns to her magical Lowcountry of South Carolina in this bewitching story of marriage, love, family, and friendship that is infused with her warm and engaging earthy humor and generous heart.



Sweet Tea Tuesdays by Ashley Farley
Three best friends met every Tuesday for twenty-six years. And then they stopped. From the author of the bestselling Sweeney Sisters Series comes a novel of friendship, family, and hope. When new next-door neighbors Georgia, Midge, and Lula first assembled on Georgia’s porch in Charleston for sweet tea, they couldn’t have known their gathering was the beginning of a treasured tradition. For twenty-six years they have met on Tuesdays at four o’clock, watching the seasons change and their children grow up, supporting each other in good times and in bad.



News of the World by Paulette Jiles
It is 1870 and Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the captain enjoys his rootless, solitary existence.








The Light in Summer by Mary McNear

For the lovely Billy Harper, Butternut Lake is the place she feels most at home, even though lately she feels the only one listening to her is Murphy...her faithful Labrador Retriever. Her teenage son, Luke, has gone from precious to precocious practically overnight. Her friends are wrapped up in their own lives, and Luke’s father, Wesley, disappeared before his son was even born. No wonder she prefers to spend time with a good book, especially ones where everything ends in perfection.




Monticello by Sally Cabbot Gunning
After the death of her beloved mother, Martha Jefferson spent five years abroad with her father, Thomas Jefferson, on his first diplomatic mission to France. Now, at seventeen, Jefferson’s bright, handsome eldest daughter is returning to the lush hills of the family’s beloved Virginia plantation, Monticello. While the large, beautiful estate is the same as she remembers, Martha has changed. The young girl that sailed to Europe is now a woman with a heart made heavy by a first love gone wrong.



The Lost Ones by Sheena Kamal
A dark, compulsively readable psychological suspense debut, the first in a new series featuring the brilliant, fearless, chaotic, and deeply flawed Nora Watts—a character as heartbreakingly troubled, emotionally complex, and irresistibly compelling as Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander and Jo Nesbø’s Harry Hole.
It begins with a phone call that Nora Watts has dreaded for fifteen years—since the day she gave her newborn daughter up for adoption. Bonnie has vanished. The police consider her a chronic runaway and aren’t looking, leaving her desperate adoptive parents to reach out to her birth mother as a last hope.




The Dress in the Window by Sofia Grant
A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress—it’s a “must have” and when you “try it on” it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams.
World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color—all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing. 




The Sworn Virgin by Kristopher Dukes
Dukes's gripping historical novel tells the tale of a desperate Albanian woman who will do whatever it takes to keep her independence and seize control of her future...even if it means swearing to remain a virgin for her entire life.




The Daughters of Ireland by Santa Montefiore
Ireland. 1925. 

The war is over. But life will never be the same...

"Everything Santa Montefiore writes, she writes from the heart,” says JOJO MOYES. See why in this unforgettable story of love, loss, and life, perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON.

In the green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill has burned to the ground. But young Celia Deverill is determined to see her ruined ancestral home restored to its former glory — to the years when Celia ran through its vast halls with her cousin Kitty and their childhood friend Bridie Doyle.




The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter
Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind…
Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy small-town family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father — Pikeville's notorious defense attorney — devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night.


5 comments:

  1. There are some interesting books there - will have to check them out. I'm working on a list, too, up probably next week.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Looks and sounds like a great list. I was just thinking how I need to put a small list together.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'll have my list up in a day or two :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is a great list..lots of beach reads :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ok, I figured out what I'll be reading! Here's mine: http://bygloryalone.blogspot.com/2017/05/my-spring-and-summer-reading-plan.html

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Please be respectful of each other and my blog. Rude comments will be deleted.

Thank you for stopping by, hope you are having a Blessed day!

♥Sandra♥