Thursday, February 13, 2020

{ A Sister's Courage by Molly Green - TLC Book Tour }


Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Avon (January 21, 2020)

It’s 1939 and the threat of war hangs over Britain…

The most ambitious of three sisters, Lorraine ‘Raine’ Linfoot always dreamed of becoming a pilot. As a spirited seventeen-year-old, she persuades her hero Doug Williams to teach her to fly.
When war breaks out in 1939, Raine is determined to put her skills to good use. She enlists in the Air Transport Auxiliary, becoming one of a handful of brave female pilots flying fighter planes to the men on the front line.

Raine embraces the challenges of the job, despite its perils. But when Doug is reported missing after his Spitfire is shot down, she realises the war could tear apart not only her country, but also her heart…

A gripping story of family, friendship and courage, perfect for fans of Natasha Lester, Lizzie Page and Call the Midwife.


Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Molly Green

Molly Green is a seasoned author of fiction and non-fiction. She has sold lipstick in a Denver store, modelled in Atlanta, assisted the UN Narcotics Director in Geneva, chauffeured a Swiss Gnome in Zurich, assisted a famous film producer in the UK, and cooked in a sanatorium in Germany. She now lives and writes in Tunbridge Wells, Kent.

 

My thoughts:

 It is no secret that I not only adore and practically inhale anything history related, but that one of my favorite eras is anything to do with World War II. 

Having just finished a previous book also about the same era, I have to say that this one fell a bit short for me.  I kept reading, pushing through and hoping that it would finally click, that I would have that moment where you connect with the story and become almost a part of it.

The premise itself was quite interesting as it focuses on the roles that women played during the war, and this one a bit more interesting in that Raine, one of three sisters, is determined to be a fighter pilot and do her part in the war, much to her mom's chagrin.....not to mention the resistance she met from male pilots who felt that women had no place in that sort of work.

I wanted so badly to enjoy this one fully, to be able to say that it was a well written story and that I loved every page, but it fell flat. 

Somewhere along the way it became more about romance and two possible love interests for Raine, and that just didn't do it for me.  I love romance novels, and I love history novels and when done correctly both genres in one can be quite a good read, however in this instance it just didn't do it for me.

The characters didn't feel developed enough, for example the main character Raine, was not believable as a kick butt female fighter pilot in a time where women were very much discriminated upon.  It all felt a bit discombobulated, which in turn made for a slow, bit confusing and all over the place story.

 Thank you to TLC Tours and the publisher for providing me with a review copy of this book, in exchange for my honest review.



4 comments:

  1. Bummer this wasn't a home run for you! I'm glad you are on the tour and gave this a shot. Sara @ TLC Book Tours

    ReplyDelete
  2. This topic is a super one, if it kept on topic! Such unsung heroes, these female pilots were! Flying these planes, to deliver them to the War Front.

    And they did it, simply for love of flying, and Patriotism. Don't remember details, but they got *peanuts* for doing this dangerous job.

    Too bad it didn't stay more "on topic"!

    💕 💕 💕

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi, schöner Beitrag. :)
    Ich folge dir jetzt und ich würde mich freuen,
    wenn du Zeit und Lust hättest meinem Blog zu folgen.
    https://katrinausdd.blogspot.com/

    LG Katrin

    ReplyDelete
  4. Get A Blank ATM CARD And Cash Good Money/Funds Pay Your Debt directly today in any ATM machine around you anywhere in the world. It's 100% guaranteed secure with no worries of being caught because the blank card it's already programmed and loaded with good funds in it, in such a way that's not traceable which also have a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTV to detect you, i am not a stupid man that i will come out to the public and start saying what someone have not done. For more info contact Mr john and also on how you are going to get your Card, Order yours today via Email: cryptoatmhacker@gmail.com

    WhatsApp contact: +27733798090

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Please be respectful of each other and my blog. Rude comments will be deleted.

Thank you for stopping by, hope you are having a Blessed day!

♥Sandra♥

Back to Top